New Horizons Central Blog

Earning Professional Development Units (PDUs)

Posted: Jul 11, 2014
Categories: Project Management
Comments: 0
Author: Nicole Winn


As part of PMI®’s Continuing Certification Requirements (CRR) program, a PMP® holder needs to earn 60 PDUs per three-year cycle. Luckily, New Horizons is a Registered Education Provider (R.E.P.), offering both official PMI courses, as well as other qualifying courses.

The PMP certification cycle lasts three years. During this time, you must attain no less than 60 professional development units (PDUs) toward credential maintenance.

Two Options that Qualify for Earning the 60 Required PDUs
The PDU requirements are such that you must attend Continuing Education training in order to reach at least 15 PDUs, with the potential to earn all 60 of the requirement. Talk to your employer about maintaining your credentials and the added value the organization will gain with your attendance in the qualifying courses listed below.

1. Continuing Education—training can apply towards earning all 60 required PDUs
2. Giving Back to the Profession—able to earn 45 of 60 required PDUs for PMP holders

Earning PDUs through New Horizons, a
Registered Education Provider (R.E.P.)

New Horizons courses that qualify:

  • 50413 Mastering Microsoft Project 2010
  • 55054 Mastering Microsoft Project 2013
  • Certified Associate in Project Management (CAPM) – Fourth Edition
  • CompTIA Project+
  • Business Analyst BA02 – Strategic Enterprise Analysis
  • Business Analyst BA03 – Writing Effective Business Cases
  • Business Analyst BA04 – Eliciting and Writing Effective Requirements
  • Business Analyst BA05 – Process Modeling Using BPMN
  • Business Analyst BA06 – Managing and Communicating Requirements for Projects
  • Business Analyst BA07 – Implementing an Agile Project
  • Business Analyst BA09 – Managing Requirements for SharePoint Projects
  • Business Analyst BA10 – Understanding Root Cause Analysis
  • Introduction to Agile Project Management
  • ITIL Foundations 2011 Edition
  • Lean Six Sigma Green Belt
  • Lean Six Sigma Black Belt
  • Project 2010 Level 1
  • Project 2010 Level 2
  • Project 2013 Level 1
  • Project 2013 Level 2
  • Project Management Essentials
  • Project Management Fundamentals


Note: All activities must be related to project management topics that are substantially consistent with the knowledge areas and processes outlined in the latest edition of A Guide to the Project Management Body of Knowledge (PMBOK®Guide) and involve appropriate expert resources.

New Horizons Upgrading People

If you would like to learn more about Project Management training and certifications, click here.

Also, if you found this article interesting, helpful or useful, please use the ‘Social Share’ buttons below and spread the word across your networks.

PMI® & PMP® are registered trademarks of the Project Management Institute.


Want to Learn More? Contact 
New Horizons Central at