PMP Project Management Training

Project Management Professional training

Directed by the Project Management Institute (PMI)®, Project Management Professional (PMP)® certification is the most important industry-recognized certification for project managers. Globally recognized and demanded, the PMP demonstrates that you have the experience, education and competency to successfully lead and direct projects.

The PMP certification improves your marketability to employers and higher salary; according to the PMI Salary Survey — Sixth Edition, “a PMP increases your salary up to 10% more than your non-credentialed colleagues and peers.”

PMP Certification

To apply for the Project Management Professional (PMP) Certification you need one of two prerequisites:

  • A secondary diploma (high school or the global equivalent) with at least five years of project management experience, including 7,500 hours leading and directing projects and 35 hours of project management education.
  • A four-year degree (bachelor's or the global equivalent) and at least three years of project management experience, with 4,500 hours leading and directing projects and 35 hours of project management education.

Learn More

Fill out my online form.

Earn Professional Development Units (PDUs)

As part of PMI®’s Continuing Certification Requirements (CRR) program, a PMP® holder needs to earn 60 PDUs per three-year cycle. New Horizons Central is a Registered Education Provider (R.E.P.), offering both official PMI courses, as well as other qualifying courses.

The PMP certification cycle lasts three years. During this time, you must attain no less than 60 professional development units (PDUs) toward credential maintenance.

Two Options that Qualify for Earning the 60 Required PDUs

The PDU requirements are such that you must attend Continuing Education training in order to reach at least 15 PDUs, with the potential to earn all 60 of the requirement. Talk to your employer about maintaining your credentials and the added value the organization will gain with your attendance in the qualifying courses listed below.

  1. Continuing Education – training can apply towards earning all 60 required PDUs
  2. Giving Back to the Profession – able to earn 45 of 60 required PDUs for PMP holders

Additional Training for a Modern IT Department

New Horizons Central provides training on the four other components of a highly efficient IT department: ITIL, Business Analysis, Six Sigma & IT Management. Each approach, although distinctly different and used independently of each other, all share a common goal for the organization: optimized business processes. Learn more:

PMI, PMP, CAPM, PMI-ACP, and PMBOK Guide are registered marks of the Project Management Institute, Inc.